Paleo “Sweet” and Savory Crêpes

These crepes were absolutely delicious and an amazing way to start my day. I used the paleo crêpe recipe from Elana’s Pantry and added my own sweet and savory twist to it! I just recently found Elana’s Pantry but I absolutely love her website, most of her recipes match exactly what PCOS patients need (dairy free, gluten free, low sugar) and they are so dang good! Here’s the recipe I used:
Paleo Crepe Recipe:
Serves:6 crepes (I came out with 5 crepes when I did it, it just depends on the size of your pan)
Ingredients
2 tablespoons coconut flour
4 large eggs
1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted over very low heat (I only used a teaspoon here)
½ cup water
1 teaspoon coconut oil, for cooking (I use a coconut oil spray that I coat the pan with)
Instructions
In a food processor, pulse together coconut flour and eggs
Add 1 tablespoon of coconut oil and water and pulse until thoroughly combined
Heat 1 teaspoon of the coconut oil in an 8-inch frying pan over medium-low heat
Scoop ¼ cup of the batter onto the skillet to spread the batter to the edges of the pan
Cook until small bubbles form and burst on the surface of the crepe, then flip and cook the other side, 4 to 5 minutes total
Transfer the crepe to a plate
Repeat the process with the remaining oil and batter, then serve

Nutrition Information for 1 crepe (if you made 5 crepes)
Calories: 85
Protein: 5.2g
Sugars: .4g
Carbs: 1.9g
Sodium: 65.6 mg
Total Fat: 6.1g
(Calculated using the app “Lose It”)

“Savory” Crepe Toppings:
1 ounce of wild sockeye salmon
30 grams of avocado (1/4 of an avocado)
A handful of homegrown dandelion sprouts
Sprinkle of salt and and red cayenne pepper

Nutrition Information for Savory Topping:
Calories: 93
Protein: 8g
Sugars: .2g
Carbs: 3.1g
Total Fat: 5.8g

“Sweet” Crepe Toppings:
1 medium sliced banana
1/2 tablespoon peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon cocoa powder
Sprinkle of salt

Nutrition Information for Sweet Topping:
Calories: 106
Protein: 2.6
Sugars: 7.5g
Carbs: 15.5g
Total Fat: 4.3g
I was so surprised with how smooth and easy these crepes turned out! Many grain free alternatives for breads and such usually end up with crumbly textures but these were smooth and easy to roll up!! The crepes are a perfect way to power you through a day and its my go to game day breakfast hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

