My Healthy Travel Tips

Below I’ve listed a few of the healthy tips I’ve learned over years of car trips, plane rides, and staying in hotels with my team and family. These tips are great for PCOS cysters, Dairy  Avoiders, or just anyone in general!

  1. Pack Healthy Snacks!! I always always make sure I have healthy snacks with me on a trip, especially when I’m traveling with my team and am surrounded by junk food. Having pre-portioned healthy snacks are so convenient when the hunger pangs hit or just when you feel like snacking on something as you watch TV. Rather than eating an entire bag of chips or candy as you binge watch Netflix (believe me I’ve been there) snacking on some carrots or nuts can do the trick when you just need something to crunch on. For PCOS women especially, eating every two hours or so is a good idea to help prevent binge eating later and keeping your blood sugar in check, so snack on! I try to pre portion my snacks to 100-200 calorie ziplocks to insure I don’t overeat as it’s so easy to lose track of how much you eat when you eat straight from a bag (if you’re like me its so easy to eat the entire bag of whatever I bring). Here’s some dairy free, low sugar, snack ideas that I always like to pack:
    • Pumpkin Seeds
    • Raw Almonds
    • Cashews (for nuts I either pack 100 calorie ziplocks or buy emerald’s 100 calorie nut packs)
    • Carrots and Hummus
    • Apples
    • Peanut Butter
    • Seaweed Snacks
    • Kind Bars (5g sugar or less)
    • Pre-made Healthy Muffins
    • Smart pop Popcorn Packs
  2. Do Your Research I always like to look at the menus beforehand of any place I go. Some restaurants include nutritional information on their websites such as allergy concerns but you really have to look for it. I usually like to look for at least one option before going to a restaurant that I know will fit my concerns (there’s always an option if you look for it) so I at least have an idea of what to order when I get somewhere. If a restaurant doesn’t list its ingredients don’t be afraid to ask the waiter or waitress about accommodating a food allergy. From my experience every waitstaff is eager to help and more than accommodating for my needs,  you just need to speak up. As a safe option at any restaurant I look for a salad I like and ask for no cheese and for dressing on the side. Most dressings are loaded with sugar or sneaky dairy and contribute to the bulk of the calories in a salad. Often adding salt is enough for me to season a salad but I sometimes will ask for just olive oil to top my salad instead as it is a healthy fat that helps our bodies better digest and absorb the nutrients in a meal.
  3. Ask about the Eggs! So I actually just learned about the importance of this tip recently. Skip the yogurt, milk, and muffins at the breakfast bar and I should be safe from dairy right?? Nope!! Hotels often use powdered eggs rather than real eggs, not only are these eggs processed but they often include dairy! Who knew?! Make sure to ask the waitstaff about the eggs to insure you’re safe from dairy or ask them if they could prepare you real eggs.
  4. Stay Hydrated: This is especially important when traveling by plane as traveling my plane often leaves you dehydrated and more prone to altitude sickness. I like to bring a refillable water bottle with me on trips to fill up because its so easy to neglect your fluid intake when it’s not so easy to just run to the fridge and fill up a glass. Staying hydrated is so important for metabolism, weight loss, and just overall health.
  5. Navigating the Breakfast Buffet: Hotels vary on the breakfasts they offer  (some better than others for sure) but many hotels offer the same basic breakfast choices. Skip the muffins and pastries and you can find yourself some healthy choices. Here’s some things I like to eat from hotels:
    • Fruit
    • Eggs (assuming they’re real)
    • Bacon (Protein is important!)
    • Sausage
    • Oatmeal (skip the brown sugar and add some healthy fats or protein if you can (sliced almonds or peanut butter are usually available)
    • Toast with peanut butter and banana (I try to avoid higher carb breakfasts such as these but it’s not a bad option when you add in the healthy fats)
    • Any veggies (I know these are hard to find but sometimes they’re offered)

 

 

Leave a Reply

