Homemade Sugar Free Granola Recipe

After a few days of eating out all I’ve been craving is sugar. Once you spike your insulin levels (by eating foods with sugars) it’s usual for your body to crave more sugar in the following days, another wonderful symptom of PCOS 🙃. Stopping those cravings takes serious will power, at least it does for me, so I decided to try to make some low sugar alternatives to the sugary foods I’ve been craving to ease my way back onto my healthy diet. Today I toyed around with some homemade granola and thought I’d share my recipe:

Homemade Granola:
1 cup Rolled Oats
1 tablespoon Cacao Powder
1/8 cup sliced almonds
2 tablespoons unsweetened coconut flakes
1/8 scoop of Chocolate Vega Protein Powder
1/2 tablespoon coconut oil
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tablespoons egg whites
Salt to taste

Directions: Now this was my first time making granola and I didn’t follow any sort of a recipe so there very well could be a better way to cook this and if you know a way feel free to drop it in the comments below haha. What I did was combine all of the dry ingredients (oats, cacao powder, almonds, coconut flakes, protein powder, cinnamon, salt) in a small bowl and mix all of those together. I then microwaved the coconut oil, olive oil, and egg whites for about 20 seconds in a separate bowl and then poured that all over the dry mixture making sure to coat everything to the best of my ability equally. I then spread this mixture out on a baking sheet that I sprayed with a bit of coconut oil and popped it in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Let it cool and then divide your granola into individual serving sizes to insure you don’t eat it all up right away 😊

Nutrition Information:
Calories: 130 (assuming your granola makes about 5 servings)
Protein: 4.8g
Total Carbs: 15g
Sugars: .3g
Fiber: 8.9g
Total Fat: 6.3g
(I calculate Nutrient Information using the app “Lose It”)

I really wanted to note the amount of sugar present in this granola. .3g!!! Now I’d call that low sugar! This granola is by no means sweet – it’s not meant to be! I wanted to create a granola that appeased my granola cravings without spiking my insulin levels whatsoever. I’ve become very accustomed to a low sugar diet and I no longer need the sweetness present in most granolas but everybody is different! If you need a little something extra to sweeten it up try adding a tablespoon of honey or maple syrup to the wet mixture. Personally I don’t think granola needs to be the sugary snack we associate it with. When I think of granola I usually think of it as a topping to a fruity mixture or smoothie. What does fruit have? Natural sugars!! So why add sugar to sugar? Once again this is personal preference and just my thoughts, regardless, I hope you all enjoy 🙂

Sweet Snack Idea Alert!!

I added my homemade granola as a topping to a few organic blackberries, chia seeds, and unsweetened coconut almond milk for a sweet “cereal” like treat ❤️

homemade granola snack
My homemade “cereal” yum!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

